My Most Important Take-Away

When looking back on our class this semester, I thought about a lot of things about the media that I would have never thought about on my own – thanks to my teacher, class discussion, and opinions from other fellow students. I knew already going into the class that I was not a huge media or technology guru, so I really enjoyed just listening. I guess I could say I am involved with social media, but definitely not as involved as others in the class were. That was interesting to me. People got information and news about things I had no clue about from these different media sources that I have yet to utilize.

I feel a lot more knowledgeable able the media world leaving this class, but I don’t necessarily want my life engrossed with it. I still enjoy having time without my phone on me, or not opening my computer for a whole weekend. These things are just a breathe of fresh air for me. It lets me focus on things that I find a lot more important in my life.

So, I guess the most important thing that I took away from JOMC 240 was there are going to be continuous disruptions from the ever-evolving world of media and technology, but it is up to us to figure out the way that they will affect us. We can choose whether we want these new sources of information in our lives or not and the ones that we choose to let in are going to have consequences on our life – both negative and positive. It is destined to change the way we act, think, and learn.

I am excited about the new technology that is being developed and the new forms that social media are taking, but I am going to be careful about how much of it all I let in thanks to this class.

Leave a Reply

