I actually thought about class after Monday!

I got a snap chat last night that made me think back to a dicussion we had in class about using our smartphones at concerts.My friend, who is studying abroad, saw Beyonce in Portugal, and I think I got maybe 10 snaps from her during the concert. At one point, I was thinking… why the heck is she on her phone? I would be dancing.

We all agreed that we do it… we pull out our phones to get the perfect picture of the performer or a video of our favorite song. But, why do we feel the need to do this. Is it because we want to show off our pictures on social media to make people jealous of where we are. Or simply just to have a picture or video to look back to when we are thinking about the concert or telling a friend about it?

Well, there’s a lot of people out there who don’t think smartphones should be used at concerts for many reasons… many of which I agreed with. One being, it’s so darn distracting! It takes away from the feeling and experience of the live performance.

Plus we know that the pictures and videos aren’t going to turn out to the best quality anyway.

From an article I read, I thought it was interesting that certain performers such as, Prince, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and other bands are banning the use mobile phones at their shows…. that is a bit aggressive in my opinion, but at least they are showing their thoughts on the use of smartphones at their shows.

This article is an interesting read about the use of smartphones at concerts. To check it out, find the article here… http://www.theguardian.com/music/musicblog/2013/sep/02/10-reasons-use-mobile-phone-gig. It explains why they think it is okay to use them.

While another article, http://www.tonedeaf.com.au/features/opinion/339860/top-10-reasons-its-still-not-ok-to-use-your-smartphone-at-concerts.htm, states their opinion based off The Guardian article on why NOT to use them.

Leave a Reply

